Club Executives & Directors
President Elect
Immediate Past President

What Is Rotary?

Laredo Gateway Rotary

Seeing an opportunity to advance Rotary International, Moe Blakey, a Laredo businessman who specializes in the sale of medical equipment, set forth and founded the Laredo Gateway Rotary Club in 1987.  Laredo Gateway Rotary's original charter was submitted November 2, 1987, and was accepted by Rotary International on November 30, 1987Since the club's inception, the membership has grown to 41 members who act as representatives of their respective industries. 

With this in mind, the Club has carried out the mission that Paul Harris envisioned: Business People helping each other and their community in a proactive and progressive manner.

Charter Members

Charter District Governor:  Dave Leyendecker
Charter President:  George A Blakey
Charter Members: 

William R Alexander, Jaime Arechiga, Arnold Cisneros, Felipe Farias, Humberto Fasci III, John Fitzgibbon, Joseph Gangi, Steve Goebel, Alberto Gomez, Gustavo Guevara, Ben Horovitz, Alan Jackson, Elmo Lopez, Francisco J. Lopez,  Albert Lowry, Alfredo I. Martinez, Jr., Librado Pina Jr., Luis A. Ramirez, Reynaldo Rodriguez, Robert R. Rodriguez, David Romanos Jr., Howard Ruhlman,  Jesus Ruiz, Ernesto Santos, Rene Solis, Fausto Sosa, and James C. Whitworth

History of Rotary

“Whatever Rotary may mean to us, to the world it will be known by the results it achieves.”

 —Paul P. Harris

Our 1.2 million-member organization started with the vision of one man—Paul P. Harris. The Chicago attorney formed one of the world’s first service organizations, the Rotary Club of Chicago, on February 23, 1905, as a place where professionals with diverse backgrounds could exchange ideas and form meaningful, lifelong friendships. Rotary’s name came from the group’s early practice of rotating meetings among the offices of each member.  As they continued to meet, one of the members suggested a wagon wheel design be used as the logo. It stuck and evolved into the familiar cogwheel emblem worn by Rotarians around the world today. 

The second Rotary club was formed in 1908 in San Francisco, California. Learning from the success of the first two Rotarian groups, other cities quickly followed suit. In 1910, Rotary went international when a group was formed in Winnipeg, Canada; and by 1921, Rotary was represented on every continent, adopting the name "Rotary International" in 1922.

The Four Way Test

The Four-Way Test is a nonpartisan and nonsectarian ethical guide for Rotarians to use for their personal and professional relationships. The test has been translated into more than 100 languages, and Rotarians recite it at club meetings:
Of the things we think, say or do

  1. Is it the TRUTH?
  2. Is it FAIR to all concerned?
  4. Will it be BENEFICIAL to all concerned?

Our Members

Hector Alaniz
Efrain Alvarado, Jr.
Tony Arce
Pablo Arenaz
Alex Blanco
Sylvia Bruni
Jorge Carrion
Alejandro Chapa
Javier Compean
Stella Compean
Irma del Barrio
Alberto De Llano
Sylvia Gandhi
Meena Gianchandani
Jorge Gonzalez
William Green
Daniela Hernandez
Elmo Daniel Lopez
Elmo Daniel Lopez Jr.
Joe Maldonado, Jr.
Jorge Gonzalez
Juanita Martinez
Hector Medina Jr.
Juan Mercado
Leticia Perez
Chris Peterson
Lucy Quintanilla
Francisco Ramirez
Lupita Ramirez
Gilbert Ramos
Jerry Robinson
Lisa Rogerio
Mayra Somarriba
Julie Tijerina
Eddie Vela